Since car insurance protects you from potential claims that result from car accidents, car insurance in Missouri is extremely important for drivers. Missouri is a fault car accident state. This means that the person responsible for the car accident has to pay for any losses that result from it. The person that suffered the accident can either;
- File a claim with their insurance company whereby the injured party files a claim against the driver at fault’s insurance company.
- He/she can file a third-party claim directly with the insurance company of the at-fault driver.
- He/she can file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver-at-fault.
Missouri Car Insurance Requirements
Before deciding you want to purchase car insurance online, you have to look at the car insurance requirements in Missouri and they are;
- To register and be able to drive in Missouri, you have to provide proof of financial responsibility by purchasing auto-insurance.
- After registering your car, you have to sign an affidavit.
- The third requirement is to have proof of your car insurance at all times with you to avoid penalties.
The table below shows the car insurance coverage requirements in Missouri;
|Coverage||Requirements In Missouri|
|Bodily Injury Liability. This covers the expenses incurred by another when the accident is your fault||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident|
|Property Damage Liability. It covers all other expenses that are related to the damage to another person’s property when the accident is your fault||$25,000 per accident|
|Uninsured Motorist. This covers your medical expenses in circumstances where the accident is the other driver’s fault and he/she is not insured||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident|
There are many car insurance coverages you can add if you need the extra protection but the above three are the only required ones. The optional ones are underinsured motorist that covers medical expenses if you are in an accident and the person at fault doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your expenses.
Medical expenses cover medical payments, collision which covers the expenses incurred when replacing or repairing your vehicle and comprehensive coverage that covers the expenses for the repair or replacement of a vehicle that has been stolen or damaged through natural circumstances. These are not required but sometimes your lender may need them if you’re leasing or financing your car.
Failure to Have Car Insurance in Missouri
If you live in Missouri and you are a driver, you have to get car insurance and failure to do so will result in penalties which include;
- Four points against your driving record.
- You may be served with a court order of supervision.
- Your driver’s license will be suspended by the court for either 0 days, 90 days and 1 year.
Driving Laws for Missouri Teenagers
In the state of Missouri, new drivers between 15 and 18 are required to complete a certain period of supervised driving and restricted driving before being eligible to apply for a license.
When a teenager reaches the age of 15, he/she may apply for instruction permit where he/she will be accompanied by a parent, guardian or a qualified instructor or driver above 25 years that have been given written permission by the teen’s parent or guardian.
After holding it for 182 days with 40 hours of driving instruction, he/she may now apply for an intermediate license and in the first 6 months of this, the teenager isn’t allowed to drive with more than one passenger below 19 years who isn’t family. This also prohibits the teen from driving between 1 am and 5 am. The teen may then apply for a license 30 days before their 18th birthday.
The car insurance discounts in Missouri may include;
- Defensive driving for those that are 55 years and above and have passed a defensive driving safety course.
- Safe driver for those with a clean driving record for at least 5 years
The discounts may include these and more and to save up on your car insurance in Missouri, you have to compare quotes, search for discounts and bundle car insurance.